My Girl Nu-Nu

She’s here!

Miss Nu-Nu was born on November 16th at 1:57 am, weighing in at 7 lbs 6 oz, a full pound heavier than her big brother Smudgie was at birth. That probably explains why my routine OB appointment at 38 weeks turned into hospital admission and then birth 14 hours later: as my OB put it, people who are going to have 7-pound babies are going to have 7-pound babies, whenever that needs to happen.

We’re all well and adjusting to life as a family of four. Smudgie is still my sweet and mischievous boy, not quite sure what to make of this sudden sister but tolerating her arrival well, regardless. He’s learned her name and has learned to thank her for the amazing new fire truck she gave him. “I love it” he told me this morning as he carried around the apartment before breakfast. Not quite “I love her” but close enough for now.

Birth story to come, maybe even later today if I feel up for it. I’m still taking care of all the “nesting” tasks that didn’t get done during these two weeks that were supposed to be my pre-baby prep time. It’s all okay, though. I wouldn’t trade a moment of my little girl’s story for another day or week.

And here she is in the hospital, sporting the first of many hats that will no doubt become her signature look:

Image

10 thoughts on “My Girl Nu-Nu

  1. Yay!! She is beautiful! My girl came at 38w and weighed 8#2oz – i’m a little nervous about #2 now. 🙂 I can’t wait to hear all about the birth story!

    ps – so jealous you got an impromptu bloggie meet up yesterday – how fun!! 🙂

  2. Wow. I checked in on your blog today to see if you were getting to enjoy some nesting/anticipating time and what a surprise! Congratulations. What a little cutie pie!

Leave a Reply

