Spooky Stories and Holiday Plans

Thank you to everyone who helped encourage me after my last post. I hit kind of a breaking point that week and had a mini-meltdown to LG, my therapist, and my mom, who volunteered to come up here to Brooklyn and help me tackle some baby prep. So while we still have a lot to do, the newborn clothes are at least sorted/cleaned/put in drawers and we have the co-sleeper in our room and the infant car seat is in the trunk of the car. One of these days we’ll install it, I’m sure.

The dissertation progresses slowly. The teaching still takes up a lot of time. At 36+ weeks I’m physically coming up empty a lot of the time–heavy, tired, dealing with a lot of pelvic pain. But I also decided to stop working after 38 weeks, so I have a little rest–maybe a few weeks, maybe a few days–to anticipate. And I am looking forward to it indeed.

And my Smudgie remains such a little star. At 25 months, he is a chatting, laughing, lovable little boy. He adores helping: “[Smudgie], can you get me your shoes?” I ask and he responds with the cutest little chirping “Oka-yeee!” Lately he’s been coming up to me when I’m sitting on the couch or a chair and saying, “Hi Mommy! Hi Mommy!” and snuggling up against me. It melts my heart every time.

I’ve held a few newborns recently. God, they’re small, aren’t they? And sweet sleepy little bundles. I am still nervous about how I will manage with two, and increasingly nervous about the birth, which I don’t feel like I’ve had time to prepare for emotionally. But I am so looking forward to lying (on my back!) on the couch with a resting little nugget on my chest. As much as I want to finish all my projects first, to make it full term at 39 weeks, to have another easy birth, I know it will be okay if any of those things doesn’t happen as planned.

* * *

In other news, Smudgie had a splendid Halloween in our neighborhood. He did a little trick or treating at local stores and houses, saw a “haunted house” that a set designer who lives down the block builds every year in his brownstone’s front lot–this year’s theme was a skeleton pirate ship–and even got to watch the delightful Park Slope Halloween parade from atop LG’s shoulders. He was the most adorable Kermit the Frog as you can plainly see:

1385920_10151949613926764_1130555830_n

* * *

This post has taken me a few days to write. During the process, I’ve had more “Things Can Never Be Simple, Can They?” news: LG’s step-father has had a surgery scheduled for just a few days before Nu-nu’s due date, which means my mother-in-law can no longer watch Smudgie if I go into labor around then. And the sister who live in my neighborhood and was the night-time stand-by for labor is starting a new job that week, too, and might have to go to Sweden for work. I’ve got an e-mail chain of about seven people on-line to watch him at various times of the day or night, but this older kid stuff is really complicated. I remember when our biggest worry was making sure our dog would get walked while we were in the hospital. Now I’m concerned we’ll be bringing my toddler to the hospital, where LG will have to sit with him in the waiting room while I labor alone with the doula.

But at 37 weeks I’m at least feel prepared in my unpreparedness. I guess we’ll figure it out somehow and then the baby will be here and I’ll get to meet this little guy or girl (I’m thinking guy lately) and we’ll just sort it out.

6 thoughts on “Spooky Stories and Holiday Plans

  1. I hope this baby stays put till 40 weeks so that you can have a few weeks of quality time at home with smudgie. Not to mention, some rest. I lost my psychic ability to predict gender during my first pregnancy but can’t wait to know if you’re having a boy or girl. Hoping for smooth sailing and lotsa rest in the upcoming weeks :o) ps – don’t you love this age that smudgie is at? They are soon stinkin adorable now that they can talk. Can’t wait till Zoe gets there. Unlike you, I’m not a big fan of the infancy stage. So much stress and anxiety!! Hugs to you guys.

  2. Smudgie looks adorable!!
    I hope you don’t have to labor alone, if that’s not what you want. I am going to labor alone, but I am actually more than fine with that. It’s certainly not a universal human practice to have the father standing around nervously while the mother is trying to get the baby out! I am actually looking forward to it being more of a solo experience (with womanly support), but I am sad that E won’t be there to see the baby born. Oh well. You’re lucky you had one easy birth– it’s strange how that varies, isn’t it? I have no hopes for anything easy after last time, which was pretty much the opposite of easy. But at least it only lasts a couple of days, max. And I agree that it will be good to tune out of work and into baby-land for awhile…

  3. I’m glad that you’ve gotten some help and that you decided to stop teaching a bit earlier than you’d planned. I took vacation on Thursday and Friday last week (and am starting maternity leave today), and I’ve been astonished at what a difference it made in how I feel. We’re just not built as efficient machines.

    It sounds like your back-up plans are feasible, though complicated and stressful! I hope it doesn’t come to that.

  4. I’m glad you get to have some time to relax (as much as you can with a toddler) and anticipate. But I can’t believe that you got another worry thrown on the lessening pile with the stress of figuring out who to take care of Smudgie when baby comes. This is a big worry for me too. We have no family close by, a very part time nanny who works for several other families and 2 of my good friends are due with #2 around the same time. I’ve resigned to laboring alone, which I’m mostly okay with, but I’m hoping that you don’t have to. It’s just so stressful when you can’t predict how things are going to go. There seems to be a fairly universal trend among the moms I know who’ve had #2, is that it goes much much faster.

  5. love the kermit the frog costume!! Adorable!

    I was panicking too about childcare. You can only prepare so much since you don’t know when it’s going to come, but you just have to trust it will be okay and someone will be there to take him. I can’t believe you’re 37 weeks! SO soon!! 🙂

  6. I’m glad you figured out a solution that works for you. If you have friends to cover your classes, that’s fantastic, you know when you need to stop. Hopefully you can get some rest and extra Smudgie time between baby projects. And gah! the older childcare, I’m due during Feb break when no daycare and at least one of our back-ups is in the Poconos. But someone will be free and you won’t have to take S to the hospital. Have a restful few days/weeks.

Leave a Reply

